2015 Favourites

This post is cliche, overdone and a little late, but I was watching one of these videos on Youtube the other day – I do enjoy watching them actually – and it made me wonder what my favourites actually were from the previous year. I like Make Up, I always have and though I wouldn’t call it my raison d’etre as some people do, I definitely got more into it last year.

Therefore, here’s my list.

Mascara: L’Oreal Volume Million Lashes
Just finished a tube of this, but I bought this a few times, looking back, and I definitely did enjoy it.  am currently using the L’Oreal Voluminous Extra Black Mascara, which I can’t find a link to but I did buy from Boots. I think I like it a little more, but it’s early days yet. And I’ve not really kept track, if I’m honest…

Liquid Eyeliner: L’Oreal Super Liner Perfect Slim
Easy. This is the only make up item I’ve ever bought multiples of and had back ups of. An absolute favourite.

Pencil Eyeliner: Rimmel Scandaleyes Kohl Pencil
Mainly the one in black, I do have the one in Nude but I definitely use the black one more for days where I don’t want a cat eye.

Blush: Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush in Diffused Heat
This was a birthday splurge that I regretted as soon as the money left my bank account. However, SpaceNK was unable to cancel my order and instead I had to suck up the fact that I have a shopping problem. When it arrived, it couldn’t resist giving it a little try, telling myself if I just tried a corner I could still send it back. But I kept trying it, and I fell in love. It is such a nice blush, and the amount of times I’ve worn it make it worth the money. As my mum always says: “It’s only ever a waste of money if you don’t use it!”. Glad I kept it. I would like more, but maybe not for a while….

Bronzer: Revlon Desert Bronze Matte Highlighting Palette
Plllleeeeaaassseee bring it back! I’ve used this loads, and I don’t even really like bronzer. I saved up for the Nars Laguna Bronzer and I’ve barely touched it compared to this one. Finger crossed they’ll have it back for the summer. Note: after that display of dramatics, Boots apparently still stocks it online, not seen it in store though.


Palette: Stila Eyes Are the Window Palette, Mind
Used this far more than I really thought. Love the matte colours, and looks great with winged eyeliner. Some shades are better than others in terms of quality though.

Foundation: Mac Factor Miracle Match Foundation
I got this because it said ‘Blur and Nourish’ on the bottle, and my skin was very dehydrated at the time. I do enjoy this, you can get shiny and I didn’t even know it was supposed to be a ‘Miracle Match’. Works fine though!

Eyebrows: Kiko Eyebrow Expert Styling Kit
Everything I need, not used anything else. Love the fact it’s not orange like any/all Maybelline Eyebrow Products. I think I have the one for ‘Deep Brunettes’ despite not  being a deep Brunette. I find darker eyebrows work better if you have glasses though.

Contour: Kevyn Aucoin Sculpting Powder in Medium
Second part of the birthday splurge. I do really like this, but it has been a steep learning curve. You need a light touch my friend, a light touch. Many a time have I left the house thinking I looked Ok, then looked into a mirror and discovered I have a beard. Not great. Note: Does this come in other colours? I swear I’ve only seen the medium, but I’m pretty sure I would need Light. SpaceNK seems to imply that it does, but I think it might be an urban legend…


Lipgloss: Maybelline Color Show Elixir Lip Gloss in Caramel Infused and Rose
These just live in my hand bag now.

Lipstick:
I have two.
Firstly: Nars Audacious Lipstick in Audrey
On the whole, I haven’t worn this that much, but it is absolutely beautiful when I do. Another major reason for picking this is because my grandmother, Audrey, passed away this year. The shade is one I;m sure she would have loved – red was her colour – and it reminds me of her when I wear it.

Secondly: Mac Plumful
This is interesting because I hated it when I first got it. I bought it because of youtube, then I realised that what looks good on other people doesn’t always look good on me, no matter how much people insist that they think it would “look good on all skin types”. However, I wore it nearly ever day in Autumn. A nice soft plum, edging towards pink (probably what put me off initially), it;s easy to wear and a little different.

Skincare:
Not much stood out to me, I have been trying new things but not for long enough to call them a favourite.

Moisturiser: Simple Kind to Skin Light Moisturiser.
Used this for years, still a favourite. No SPF because I use this day and night.

Face Wipes: Boots Botanics All Bright Facial Cleansing Wipes
Best face wipes ever, and almost always on offer. Yay!

There you have it, cosmetic favourites of the last year. It was pretty interesting to look back on and see what I’ve actually used, and when. I could probably do a separate list for nail varnishes, if I’m honest. Too difficult to narrow down to one!

Best,
Jess


Leave a Reply

