Best Neutral Nails

I was going through my nail varnishes today, and realised that I had so many more neutral nail varnishes than I though. Oh. But at least it gave me an idea for a blog post.

Before we begin: none of these are Nails Inc’s ‘Porchester Square’, I actually don’t own that one because you can very easily get dupes for approximately £4. See below for details…

8. Ciate Iced Frappe
I’m actually not a huge fan of the Ciate formula, I find it chips easily. However, some of their colours are particularly lovely. Iced Frappe is another one similar to Porchester Square, though perhaps more difficult to get hold of. Some Ciate is available at Boots, but you may have to scout online or TK Maxx for it which is where I got mine as part of a set.
Full size available at ASOS for £9.00, some may still be available at TK Maxx

7. Barry M Gelly Hi-Shine Nail Paint in Almond
Here is your £4 dupe for Porchester Square. Don’t spend £14 on a polish, but this, spend the tenner else where and be glad.
Available at Boots and Superdrug for £3.99

6 Ciate Chinchilla
This is a mini which also came in the same set as Iced Frappe, and the next one on the list. It’s a lovely pale grey-blue. Very unique from anything else I’ve seen.
LookFantastic has it for £9

5 Ciate Pillow Fight
The last Ciate on the list! This one is my favourite colours, a beige purple. I’ve never seen anything like it and it looks stunning on the nails. I only wish the formula was more chip-resistant.
LookFantastic has the full size for £9

4 Maybelline Color Show in 288 Cool Touch
I do consider this a neutral, despite being a light grey rather than a brown base. I don’t love the Color Show formula, on the whole, and I find the polishes dry out really quickly. But I have uet to discover another light grey that I like this much.
Available from Boots for £3.99

3 Color Club Holographic in 980 Cherubic
This was inspired by Young Wild & Polished on YouTube. This is the most gorgeous holographic nude – I didn’t even know such a thing existed before this! You need it.
Available from Amazon for £8.45 (at time of posting)

2 Barry M Gelly Hi-Shine Nail Paint in Olive
Again, a move away from the brown-y nudes and into something different. This is one of my favourite nail varnishes EVER. The Barry M Gelly formula is perhaps the best formula ever, and this light olive is so beautiful – neutral but a little different. It was only bested to the top spot by one other…
Available at Boots and Superdrug for £3.99

1. Kiko 221
This is a light satin pink which I never in a million years thought I would wear as much as I have, but it is beautiful on the nails. Not too pink, nor too shimmery…just right. It makes you nails look long and elegant and beautiful., and that is why it’s may unexpected favourite of the bunch.
Available from Kiko for £3.90 (frequently on offer)

Leave a Reply

