January Favourites

January favourites – because why not?

Vintage fairs
They seem to be back in force at the moment, I imagine the burgeoning hope of spring has bought them out. I went to one the other week with my sister and we had so much fun. I think that going to things like vintage fairs – for me, anyway – are about the act of going rather than actually buying anything. Although we did make a few purchases, the best part was simply being there with my sister  – and perhaps, the cake we had for lunch.

Challenges
I completed my challenges of last month – went to a yoga class and a ballroom dance class. Unfortunately I haven’t had chance to go back to either, but I think that is something I’ll work on this month. Don’t know if I’ll make it back to the dance class though – I felt as if they only really wanted serious people there, and I would not want to do it seriously: only for fun. Unfortunately I feel like most ballroom classes for people not wishing to take it seriously seem to be for the 60+ group. So I’m not sure what I’m going to do on that front.

Beanies
Loving Beanies at the moment. The winter essential for when you need to wash your hair!

EkhartYoga Gratitude Challenge
This isn’t a favourite of last month, but it’s something I’m trying this month. We’ll see how it goes!

L’Oreal Paris Eyeshadow in Pin Up Pink
Bought this on a whim (I don’t need more eye shadow!) and it’s really lovely. I’ve been really enjoying pink eye make up recently actually, as shown by my extra eye shadow in the picture above which is The Seventeen Eye Eye Rose Quartz in possibly the worst packaging ever, as it causes the shadow to shatter whenever you close it….

Lipiner plus clear gloss
I saw AmeliaLiana do this a while ago and I just started paying around with it. It’s a really nice way to get ‘custom’ lip glosses and another way to use lip liners, which I don’t tend to reach for on the whole and then they sit in my collection fr the next 5 years…until I throw them out.
My favourite in Janurary was the Rimmel 1000 Kisses lipliner in East End Snob (Ahem. I’ve had this for years….before the hype!) paired with any clear gloss, mine is Miss Sporty because it cost about £2. *shrugs*

TV Show: The Wrong Mans
I’ve been meaning to post a review of this. This is a really fun 6 part series. Unabashedly British, with gentle, ironic humour. Available on UK Netflix

Book: The Boy Who Lost Fairyland by Catherine M. Valente
I adore Catherine Valente, this whole Fairyland series is probably the best young fiction (aimed probably at 8-12 year olds) that has come out since Harry Potter. I love the way it engages with Fairy Lore, in a way which if you recognize it: great, if not: she;ll explain. I love the way the narrator is woven into the text. It’s absolutely phenomenal – read it no matter what age. The category of books for 8-12 year olds is really overlooked in favour of teen fiction but there is some great stuff.

Leave a Reply

