Nanowrimo Week 3 Roundup

shield-nano-blue-brown-rgb-hires

 

 

I’ve been slowing down for the past few weeks, November has ended up being incredibly hectic, more so than I thought it would be, and doing Nano for the first time in this particular month has been challenging. So I have set myself my own personal goal for Nano, to write every day this month regardless of whether I reach the target. There is a part of me that is waiting for November to be over so I can enjoy my life again, update this blog more regularly, go out and see people, not have that sinking feeling on the train home that I have to write this evening.

Nonetheless, I’m not giving up. Any amount of words per day is what I am striving for. I have even broken free of the novel itself and written some short pieces to get me to write something. I’m not writing to win at this stage, I don’t like my novel enough for that at the moment and, frankly, I’m beginning to wonder if this particular novel is even meant to be 50,000 words long. I am also now entering a period of time where I am supposed to be writing a series of poems for an online course I am doing – I am wondering whether to fully commit to cheating during Nano and use some of my word count to do this.

Next year, I am hoping to take a creative writing course and try Nano again – maybe even Nano camp in the spring and summer. For now, I am content that I have tried and experienced it first hand, next year maybe I will play to win.

On to the next week! A very stressful week for me outside of Nano, so as long as I can keep going I’ll be content. How is it going for everyone else? Anyone else struggling to keep it going?

 

5 thoughts on “Nanowrimo Week 3 Roundup

  1. I am a novelist who has never done Nanowrimo so I find your post interesting. Good on you for wrangling the intensity and commitment to suit your own needs. And enjoy the last few days! It is too sad if you lose the joy of writing.

    Like

    • Hi! Thanks for your comment, I realised fairly early on that if I was going to get anywhere at all with it I would have to be kind to myself and allow myself to write what/when it suits me – not without pushing myself – but I gave myself some personal goals rather than necessarily writing to ‘win’. Out of curiosity was not doing Nanowrimo a particular choice? I know some people have very strong opinions on the project. Also, what is your approach to writing? I often wonder how novelists can deal with writing constantly and manage to keep going – do you have any tips?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hang in there. I’ve been struggling in week 3 too and have decided to just give myself permission to write a small amount, like 500 words or 1k words but to write everyday. Maybe I don’t hit 50k, but it is undoubtedly the most I’ve ever written.

    Like

    • I’ve done the same. I’ve also broken free of my ‘novel’ and just given myself permission to write anything. So, what I have started doing now is allowing myself to write a short section of something else and then return to the novel if I want to. What it has actually done is given me some ideas for other novels I could write and characters I could use. As you say, I’m unlikely to hit 50K but at least I have been writing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

