Personal challenges

My New Year’s Resolution this year was to challenge myself to at least one thing every month.Whilst I was slow getting started in January, February has been better and my life is slowly getting busier again with work, with my social life and with my own desire to improve myself. So in order to keep myself accountable and to keep track of how I am doing, here are the challenges I have done in the past month and a half.

 

new_york_city_view

Spoiler!

 


Challenge 1: Drive and park on my own. 

I am new to driving, having only just passed in November after years of struggling. Driving on my own has been a very different experience and it has taken me a while to get used to it. It might sound like a silly one, but I was pretty proud of myself for taking ownership and getting myself somewhere and back.

Challenge 2: Join a new exercise class.

Aerial Yoga! It’s so much fun! My resolution was to go to a new exercise class since I know I always enjoy it, and when I saw this class I couldn’t resist having a go. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone, it is so liberating the hang upside down and to know I have the strength to do a flip – it’s great for the core too. Love it!

Challenge 3: Book a trip abroad. 

This was a tricky one, and I know here will be people out there who think I am mad for being so scared about this. The fact of the matter is that I hate things which are beyond my control, and change, even if only a change of place for a week or so, is always a little out of your control. That’s probably why it is so important you do it.

So, I finally plucked up the courage to book a trip to New York. I am very excited about it, but also a little nervous: it’s a long way! I am going with a friend this time, but my next challenge would be to take a trip alone before the year is out; I think if I can get over my worry of it I would really enjoy it. For now, this adventure is big enough!

If any of you have any suggestions on what to do/where to eat in New York please leave me a comment – I would love extra suggestions and would love to know I have some support in this. (Sidenote: if anyone who reads this likes makeup I have a list a mile long for Sephora and the US drugstores so suggestions in this area welcome also. We have booked a checked bag for the flight home…)

So those are my achievements in the past month, I have many more challenges to work on but I don’t want to put them out there until I have done them. It feels a little like I would jinx them. Let me know what you thought of this post – if it was silly or interesting, or if you have any personal challenges you are working on.

One thought on “Personal challenges

  1. Pingback: Sunday Round Up #17 | Laidig's Broadway

Leave a Reply

